Faculty

Name Room Research Areas Title Contact
Angelika Amon's picture
Amon, Angelika

76-561

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, Genetics, and Microbiology

Kathleen and Curtis Marble Professor of Cancer Research; Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute 617-258-8964
angelika@mit.edu
Jenny Cimino
joyoung@mit.edu
Tania Baker's picture
Baker, Tania

68-523

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Immunology, Microbiology, and Structural Biology

E. C. Whitehead Professor of Biology; MacVicar Faculty Fellow; Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute 617-253-3594
tabaker@mit.edu
Elise Spencer
elises@mit.edu
David Bartel's picture
Bartel, David

WI-601B

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Bioengineering, Computational & Systems Biology, Developmental Biology, Genetics, Microbiology, and Structural Biology

Professor of Biology; Member Whitehead Institute; Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute 617-258-5287
dbartel@wi.mit.edu
Laura Resteghini
resteghini@wi.mit.edu
Stephen Bell's picture
Bell, Stephen

68-630

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Cell Biology, and Genetics

Professor of Biology; Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute 617-253-2054
spbell@mit.edu
Elaine Aidonidis
elainea@mit.edu
Laurie Boyer's picture
Boyer, Laurie

68-230

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, Computational & Systems Biology, Developmental Biology, Genetics, and Stem Cells & Epigenetics

Associate Professor of Biology 617-324-3335
lboyer@mit.edu
Darlene McGurl
dmcgurl@mit.edu
Gene Brown's picture
Brown, Gene

68-223B

Professor Emeritus 617-253-0882
gmbrown@mit.edu
Olga Vieira
ovieira@mit.edu
Chris Burge's picture
Burge, Chris

68-271

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Bioengineering, Computational & Systems Biology, and Stem Cells & Epigenetics

CSB Program Director Professor of Biology and Biological Engineering; Extramural Member of KIICR; Associate Member of the Broad Institute 617-258-5997
cburge@mit.edu
Sarah Mann
smann@mit.edu
ecalo's picture
Calo, Eliezer

68-270

Developmental Biology, Genetics, Stem Cells & Epigenetics, Computational & Systems Biology, Cancer Biology, Human Genetics

617-324-5330
calo@mit.edu
Cindy Woolley
cwoolley [at] mit.edu
Iain Cheeseman's picture
Cheeseman, Iain

WI-401B

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, and Structural Biology

Associate Professor of Biology; Member Whitehead Institute 617-324-2503
icheese@wi.mit.edu
Nicholas Polizzi
npolizzi@wi.mit.edu
Jianzhu Chen's picture
Chen, Jianzhu

76-261

Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, and Immunology

Professor of Biology; Singapore Research Professor 617-258-6173
jchen@mit.edu
Ryan Hayman
rhayman@mit.edu
Sallie W. Chisholm's picture
Chisholm, Sallie (Penny)

48-419

Bioengineering and Microbiology

Institute Professor 617-253-1771
chisholm@mit.edu
Ed Carlevale
ecarle@mit.edu
Martha Constantine-Paton's picture
Constantine-Paton, Martha

46-4165

Developmental Biology and Neurobiology

Professor of Biology; Investigator McGovern Institute 617-258-6415
mcpaton@mit.edu
Beth Klein
bethk@mit.edu
Catherine Drennan's picture
Drennan, Catherine

68-680

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Bioengineering, Computational & Systems Biology, Microbiology, Molecular Medicine & Human Disease, and Structural Biology

Professor of Biology and Chemistry; Investigator and Professor Howard Hughes Medical Institute; MacVicar Faculty Fellow 617-253-5622
cdrennan@mit.edu
Susan Hunt
sghunt@mit.edu
Gerald Fink's picture
Fink, Gerald

WI-561F

Cell Biology, Computational & Systems Biology, Genetics, Microbiology, Molecular Medicine & Human Disease, Plant Molecular Biology

Margaret and Herman Sokol Professor; American Cancer Society Professor of Genetics; Member Whitehead Institute 617-258-5215
gfink@wi.mit.edu
Beverly Dobson
bmdobson@wi.mit.edu
Maurice Fox's picture
Fox, Maurice

68-333b

Professor Emeritus 617-253-4728
msfox@mit.edu
Mary Gehring's picture
Gehring, Mary

WI-561C

Cell Biology, Computational & Systems Biology, Developmental Biology, Genetics, Plant Molecular Biology, and Stem Cells & Epigenetics

Associate Professor of Biology; Member Whitehead Institute 617-324-0343
mgehring@wi.mit.edu
Beverly Dobson
bmdobson@wi.mit.edu
Frank Gertler's picture
Gertler, Frank

76-361

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, and Genetics

Professor of Biology Charles Ross Scholar 617-253-5511
fgertler@mit.edu
Ryan Hayman
rhayman@mit.edu
Wendy Gilbert's picture
Gilbert, Wendy

68-333

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Cell Biology, Computational & Systems Biology, Developmental Biology, Genetics and Microbiology

Associate Professor of Biology 617-253-3706
wgilbert@mit.edu
Tau Zaman
tauzaman@mit.edu
Alan Grossman's picture
Grossman, Alan

68-530

Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Genetics, and Microbiology

Praecis Professor of Biology; Department Head 617-253-1515
adg@mit.edu
Darlene McGurl
dmcgurl@mit.edu
Leonard Guarente's picture
Guarente, Leonard

68-280

Cancer Biology, Genetics, Human Genetics, and Stem Cells & Epigenetics

Novartis Professor of Biology 617-253-6965
leng@mit.edu
Mary Gallagher
marygal@mit.edu
Piyush Gupta's picture
Gupta, Piyush

WI-661C

Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, Computational & Systems Biology, Developmental Biology, Genetics, Molecular Medicine & Human Disease, and Stem Cells & Epigenetics

Howard S. and Linda B. Stern Career Development Associate Professor of Biology; Member Whitehead Institute 617-324-0086
pgupta@wi.mit.edu
Laura Resteghini
resteghini@wi.mit.edu
Michael Hemann's picture
Hemann, Michael

76-361

Cancer Biology, Genetics, and Molecular Medicine & Human Disease

Associate Professor of Biology 617-324-1964
hemann@mit.edu
Ryan Hayman
rhayman@mit.edu
Nancy Hopkins's picture
Hopkins, Nancy

76-453

Professor Emeritus 617-253-6414
nhopkins@mit.edu
Paul A. Thompson
milu83@mit.edu
H. Robert Horvitz's picture
Horvitz, H. Robert

68-425

Developmental Biology, Genetics, Molecular Medicine & Human Disease, Neurobiology, and Stem Cells & Epigenetics

David H. Koch Professor; Member McGovern Institute for Brain Research; Member David H. Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research; Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute 617-253-4671
horvitz@mit.edu
Nick Anisimov
anisimov@mit.edu
David Housman's picture
Housman, David

76-553

Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, Human Genetics, and Molecular Medicine & Human Disease

Virginia and D.K. Ludwig Scholar for Cancer Research 617-253-3013
dhousman@mit.edu
Elizabeth Galoyan
lgaloyan@mit.edu
Richard Hynes's picture
Hynes, Richard

76-361

Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, and Molecular Medicine & Human Disease

Daniel K. Ludwig Professor for Cancer Research; Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute 617-253-6422
rohynes@mit.edu
Barbara Imperiali's picture
Imperiali, Barbara

68-380A

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Bioengineering, Microbiology, Molecular Medicine & Human Disease, and Structural Biology

Class of 1922 Professor of Biology and Chemistry; MacVicar Faculty Fellow 617-253-1838
imper@mit.edu
Elizabeth Fong
efong@mit.edu
Tyler Jacks's picture
Jacks, Tyler

76-453

Cancer Biology, Developmental Biology, Molecular Medicine & Human Disease, Neurobiology, and Stem Cells & Epigenetics

Director David H. Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research; David H. Koch Professor of Biology; Daniel K. Ludwig Scholar for Cancer Research; Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute 617-253-0262
tjacks@mit.edu
Judy Teixeira
jteixeir@mit.edu
Rudolf Jaenisch's picture
Jaenisch, Rudolf

WI-461B

Cancer Biology, Developmental Biology, Molecular Medicine & Human Disease, Neurobiology, and Stem Cells & Epigenetics

Professor of Biology; Member Whitehead Institute; Member Institute of Medicine 617-258-5186
jaenisch@wi.mit.edu
Gerry Kemske
kemske@wi.mit.edu
Chris Kaiser's picture
Kaiser, Chris

68-533

Cell Biology and Genetics

Professor of Biology; MacVicar Faculty Fellow 617-253-9804
ckaiser@mit.edu
Lisa Maloney
lmaloney@mit.edu
Amy Keating's picture
Keating, Amy

68-622A

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Bioengineering, Computational & Systems Biology, and Structural Biology

Professor of Biology 617-452-3398
keating@mit.edu
Tau Zaman
tauzaman@mit.edu
Dennis Kim's picture
Kim, Dennis

68-430A

Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Genetics, Immunology, Microbiology, and Neurobiology

Ivan R. Cottrell Professor of Immunology 617-324-0050
dhkim@mit.edu
Sarah Mann
smann@mit.edu
Jonathan King's picture
King, Jonathan

68-330

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Computational & Systems Biology, Microbiology, Molecular Medicine & Human Disease, and Structural Biology

Professor of Biology 617-253-4700
jaking@mit.edu
Cindy Woolley
cwoolley@mit.edu
Monty Krieger's picture
Krieger, Monty

68-483

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Cell Biology, Genetics, Immunology, and Molecular Medicine & Human Disease

Whitehead Professor of Molecular Genetics; MacVicar Faculty Fellow 617-253-6793
krieger@mit.edu
Cindy Woolley
cwoolley@mit.edu
Eric Lander's picture
Lander, Eric

NE30-6013

Cancer Biology, Computational & Systems Biology, Genetics, and Human Genetics

Professor of Biology; Professor of Systems Biology Harvard Medical School; Founding Director the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard 617-252-1906
lander@broadinstitute.org
Kate Mulherin
ESLOffice@broadinstitute.org
Michael Laub's picture
Laub, Michael

68-580

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Cell Biology, Computational & Systems Biology, Genetics, and Microbiology

Professor of Biology; Associate Department Head; Investigator; Howard Hughes Medical Institute; Director of Scientific Operations Building 68 617-324-0418
laub@mit.edu
Tau Zaman
tauzaman@mit.edu
Douglas Lauffenburger's picture
Lauffenburger, Douglas

16-343

Bioengineering, Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, and Computational & Systems Biology

Ford Professor of Biological Engineering Chemical Engineering and Biology; Head Department of Biological Engineering 617-252-1629
lauffen@mit.edu
Gerri Powers
gpowers@mit.edu
Jacqueline Lees's picture
Lees, Jacqueline

76-461

Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, Molecular Medicine & Human Disease, and Stem Cells & Epigenetics

Virginia and D.K. Ludwig Professor for Cancer Research; Associate Department Head; Associate Director David H. Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research 617-252-1972
jalees@mit.edu
Paul Thompson
milu83@mit.edu
Gene-Wei Li's picture
Li, Gene-Wei

68-223

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Bioengineering, Cell Biology, Computational & Systems Biology, and Microbiology

Helen Sizer Career Development Assistant Professor 617-324-6703
gwli@mit.edu
Cindy Woolley
cwoolley@mit.edu
J. Troy Littleton's picture
Littleton, J. Troy

46-3243

Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Genetics, Molecular Medicine & Human Disease, and Neurobiology

Merdicon Professor of Biology and The Picower Institute for Learning and Memory 617-452-2605
troy@mit.edu
Charles Moss
vmoss@mit.edu
Harvey Lodish's picture
Lodish, Harvey

WI-601C

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, and Molecular Medicine & Human Disease

Professor of Biology; Member Whitehead Institute; Professor of Bioengineering 617-258-5216
lodish@wi.mit.edu
Mary Ann Donovan
donovan@wi.mit.edu
Irving London's picture
London, Irving

E25-551

Professor Emeritus 617-253-4305
imlondon@mit.edu
Sebastian Lourido's picture
Lourido, Sebastian

WI-301 (office)

Cell Biology, Microbiology

Fellow Whitehead Institute. Will join Biology Faculty as an Assistant Professor on July 1st 2017 (617) 324-4920
lourido@wi.mit.edu
Adam Martin's picture
Martin, Adam

68-459

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Bioengineering, Cell Biology, Computational & Systems Biology, Developmental Biology, and Genetics

Associate Professor of Biology 617-324-0074
acmartin@mit.edu
Elizabeth Fong
efong@mit.edu
Elly Nedivi's picture
Nedivi, Elly

46-3239

Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Molecular Medicine & Human Disease, and Neurobiology

Professor of Brain & Cognitive Sciences and Biology 617-253-2344
nedivi@mit.edu
Charles Moss
vmoss@mit.edu
Terry Orr-Weaver's picture
Orr-Weaver, Terry

WI-561B

Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, and Genetics

Professor of Biology; American Cancer Society Research Professor; Member Whitehead Institute 617-258-5245
weaver@wi.mit.edu
Gabrielle McCauley
gabamac@wi.mit.edu
David Page's picture
Page, David

WI-461F

Developmental Biology, Genetics, Human Genetics, Molecular Medicine & Human Disease, and Stem Cells & Epigenetics

Professor of Biology; Director Whitehead Institute; Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute 617-258-5203
page_admin@wi.mit.edu
Susan Tocio
page_admin@wi.mit.edu
Mary-Lou Pardue's picture
Pardue, Mary-Lou

68-670

Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, and Genetics

Professor Emeritus 617-253-6741
mlpardue@mit.edu
Sarah Mann
smann@mit.edu
William Quinn's picture
Quinn, William

46-5009

Neurobiology

Professor Emeritus 617-253-6307
cquinn@mit.edu
Uttam RajBhandary's picture
RajBhandary, Uttam

68-671A

Biochemistry & Biophysics

Lester Wolfe Professor in Molecular Biology 617-253-4702
bhandary@mit.edu
Lisa Maloney
lmaloney@mit.edu
Peter Reddien's picture
Reddien, Peter

WI-501B

Cell Biology, Computational & Systems Biology, Developmental Biology, Genetics, Neurobiology, and Stem Cells & Epigenetics

Professor of Biology; Associate Department Head; Member Whitehead Institute; Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute 617-324-4083
reddien@wi.mit.edu
Nicholas Polizzi
npolizzi@wi.mit.edu
Aviv Regev's picture
Regev, Aviv

NE30-6031

Cancer Biology, Computational & Systems Biology, Human Genetics, Immunology, Microbiology, and Stem Cells & Epigenetics

Professor of Biology; Core Member Broad Institute; Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute 617-714-7021
aregev@broadinstitute.org
Julianna Coraccio
coraccio@broadinstitute.org
David Sabatini's picture
Sabatini, David

WI-361

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Bioengineering, Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, and Molecular Medicine & Human Disease

Professor of Biology; Member Whitehead Institute; Senior Member Broad Institute; Member Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research 617-258-6407
sabatini@wi.mit.edu
Danica Rili
drili@wi.mit.edu
Leona Samson's picture
Samson, Leona

16-743B

Bioengineering, Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, Computational & Systems Biology, Genetics, Human Genetics, Microbiology, Molecular Medicine & Human Disease, and Structural Biology

Uncas and Helen Whitaker Professor; American Cancer Society Research Professor 617-258-7813
lsamson@mit.edu
Lindsay King
lindsayk@mit.edu
Robert Sauer's picture
Sauer, Robert

68-571A

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Computational & Systems Biology, Microbiology, and Structural Biology

Salvador E. Luria Professor of Biology 617-253-3163
bobsauer@mit.edu
Brenda Pepe
pepebe@mit.edu
Schimmel, Paul

68-132

Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics and John D. MacArthur Professor Emeritus schimmel@scripps.edu
Thomas Schwartz's picture
Schwartz, Thomas

68-480

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Cell Biology, and Structural Biology

Boris Magasanik Professor of Biology 617-452-3851
tus@mit.edu
Sarah Mann
smann@mit.edu
Phillip Sharp's picture
Sharp, Phillip

76-461

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Cancer Biology, and Cell Biology

Institute Professor; Professor of Biology 617-253-6421
sharppa@mit.edu
Geoffrey Shamu
shamu@mit.edu
Anthony Sinskey's picture
Sinskey, Anthony

68-370

Bioengineering and Microbiology

Professor of Microbiology and Health Sciences & Technology 617-253-6721
asinskey@mit.edu
Fen Tung
ftung@mit.edu
Hazel Sive's picture
Sive, Hazel

WI-401C

Developmental Biology and Neurobiology

Professor of Biology;
Member Whitehead Institute;
Associate Member Broad Institute;
MacVicar Faculty Fellow
617-258-8242
sive@wi.mit.edu
Heather Ferguson
ferguson@wi.mit.edu
Frank Solomon's picture
Solomon, Frank

76-561

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, and Genetics

Professor of Biology 617-253-3026
solomon@mit.edu
Jenny Cimino
joyoung@mit.edu
Stefani Spranger's picture
Spranger, Stefani

76-453D

Immunology, Cancer Biology, Molecular Medicine & Human Diseases

Assistant Professor of Biology effective 7/2017 (617) 715-5882
spranger@mit.edu
Paul Thompson
milu83@mit.edu
Lisa Steiner's picture
Steiner, Lisa

68-623

Cell Biology, Computational & Systems Biology, Developmental Biology, and Immunology

Professor of Immunology 617-253-6704
lsteiner@mit.edu
Joanne Stubbe's picture
Stubbe, Joanne

18-598

Biochemistry & Biophysics

Professor Emeritus 617-253-1814
stubbe@mit.edu
Betty Lou McClanahan
blm@mit.edu
Susumu Tonegawa's picture
Tonegawa, Susumu

46-5285

Immunology and Neurobiology

Picower Professor of Biology and Neuroscience; Director RIKEN-MIT Center for Neural Circuit Genetics 617-253-6459
tonegawa@mit.edu
Liam Brenner
lbrenner@mit.edu
Matthew Vander Heiden's picture
Vander Heiden, Matthew

76-561

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Cancer Biology, Cell Biology, Computational & Systems Biology, and Molecular Medicine & Human Disease

Eisen and Chang Career Development; Associate Professor of Biology 617-715-4471
mvh@mit.edu
Peter Jansen
pejansen@mit.edu
Graham Walker's picture
Walker, Graham

68-633

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Genetics, Microbiology, and Plant Molecular Biology

American Cancer Society Professor; HHMI Professor; MacVicar Faculty Fellow 617-253-6716
gwalker@mit.edu
Mary Gallagher
marygal@mit.edu
Robert Weinberg's picture
Weinberg, Robert

WI-301

Cancer Biology and Stem Cells & Epigenetics

Daniel K. Ludwig Professor for Cancer Research; Member Whitehead Institute 617-258-5159
weinberg@wi.mit.edu
Christine Hickey
hickey@wi.mit.edu
Jing-Ke Weng's picture
Weng, Jing-Ke

WI-361C

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Bioengineering, Computational & Systems Biology, Genetics, Plant Molecular Biology, and Structural Biology

Thomas and Virginia Cabot Career Development Assistant Professor; Member Whitehead Institute 617-324-4921
wengj@wi.mit.edu
Heather Ferguson
ferguson@wi.mit.edu
Matthew Wilson's picture
Wilson, Matthew

46-5233

Neurobiology

Sherman Fairchild Professor of Neuroscience and Picower Scholar; Associate Department Head for Education Brain & Cognitive Sciences 617-253-2046
mwilson@mit.edu
James deMelo
demelo@mit.edu
Michael Yaffe's picture
Yaffe, Michael

76-353

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Cancer Biology, Computational & Systems Biology, Molecular Medicine & Human Disease, and Structural Biology

David H. Koch Professor in Science; Professor of Biological Engineering 617-452-2442
myaffe@mit.edu
Thomas Dietzel
tdietzel@mit.edu
Omer H. Yilmaz's picture
Yilmaz, Omer

76-553G

Cancer Biology, Developmental Biology, Molecular Medicine & Human Disease, and Stem Cells & Epigenetics

Assistant Professor of Biology 617-324-7633
ohyilmaz@mit.edu
Elizabeth Galoyan
lgaloyan@mit.edu
Richard Young's picture
Young, Richard

WI-501

Biochemistry & Biophysics, Cell Biology, Computational & Systems Biology, Developmental Biology, Immunology, Molecular Medicine & Human Disease, and Stem Cells & Epigenetics

Professor of Biology; Member Whitehead Institute 617-258-5218
young@wi.mit.edu
Katie Lazuk
young_admin@wi.mit.edu